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TO THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TEXAS: 

 JAMES ALLAN BURG II, Appellant, in accordance with Texas Rule of 

Appellate Procedure 68, files this petition for discretionary review. 

STATEMENT REGARDING ORAL ARGUMENT 

 This case presents a unique issue related to the classification of a license 

suspension and the ability to raise a complaint on appeal. Burg believes oral 

argument would assist this Court in its decision. 

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 This is an appeal from a driving while intoxicated (“DWI”) conviction. 

On May 26, 2016, a jury found Burg guilty of misdemeanor DWI with an 

alcohol concentration of 0.15 or more. See TEX. PENAL CODE § 49.04. (6 RR 

160-61, CR 99). The jury assessed punishment at one year in the Montgomery 

County Jail and a $1500 fine, recommending that the trial court place Burg on 

community supervision. (7 RR 20-21, CR 99). The trial court followed the 

jury’s recommendation and placed Burg on community supervision for a 

period of 18 months. The trial court also ordered Burg’s driver’s license 

suspended for a period of one year. (7 RR 22-25, CR 99). Burg argued on 

appeal that the trial court was not authorized by law to suspend his driver’s 

license. 
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STATEMENT OF PROCEDURAL HISTORY 

On April 11, 2018, the Ninth Court of Appeals delivered a memorandum 

opinion affirming the trial court’s judgment. Burg v. State, No. 09-16-00200-

CR, 2018 WL 1747393, 2018 Tex. App. LEXIS 2531 (Tex. App.—Beaumont, 

April 11, 2018) (mem. op., not designated for publication). Burg’s motion for 

rehearing was filed on April 26, 2018 and denied on April 30, 2018. 

GROUND FOR REVIEW 

1. Does a failure to object to a driver’s license suspension at 
trial bar complaint on appeal?1 

 
ARGUMENT 

After a jury convicted Burg of misdemeanor DWI, the trial court placed 

him on community supervision for a period of 18 months, assessed a $1500 

fine, and ordered his driver’s license suspended for a period of one year. (7 RR 

24, CR 99). On appeal, Burg argued that the license suspension violated 

section 521.344(d) of the Texas Transportation Code. The lower court 

overruled the issue without considering its merits, instead describing the 

license suspension as a condition of community supervision that Burg could 

not complain about on appeal because he did not object at trial. Burg, slip op. 

at 19. 

																																																													
1 7 RR 24; CR 99. 
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 This case warrants review because the lower court erroneously decided 

that the license suspension was a condition of community supervision. To the 

contrary, Burg’s license suspension was part of the sentence, not a condition 

of community supervision. And because the trial court was not authorized by 

law to suspend Burg’s license, that part of the sentence was void, and could be 

a raised for the first time on appeal. The lower court’s holding conflicts with 

Speth v. State2 and other decisions of this Court, and conflicts with statutes in 

the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Texas Penal Code, and Texas 

Transportation Code. Burg asks this Court to settle this important question of 

law. TEX. R. APP. P. 66.3(b), 66.3(c), 66.3(d).  

Burg’s license suspension was part of his sentence, not a condition of 
community supervision. 
 

In its opinion, the lower court erroneously described Burg’s license 

suspension as a “condition of community supervision.” But a license 

suspension for an offense involving intoxication is a separate penalty 

independent of community supervision, and dictated by section 521.344 of the 

Texas Transportation Code. Moreover, a suspension would have been 

required if Burg did not receive community supervision. See TEX. TRANSP. 

CODE § 521.344(a). 

																																																													
2 6 S.W.3d 530 (Tex. Crim. App. 1999). 
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In the trial judgment, Burg’s license suspension was reflected with other 

orders of the sentence including confinement and fine. (CR 99). While the 

trial court ordered the imposition of confinement suspended, remaining 

orders of the sentence were not suspended. Further evidence to support 

Burg’s position is found in the three-page document titled “Conditions of 

Community Supervision,” signed and agreed to by the trial court and Burg. 

(CR 101). The document identifies several specific conditions that Burg was 

ordered to abide by while on community supervision but does not include any 

mention of the order of a license suspension. (CR 101-03). If the license 

suspension were a condition of community supervision, it would have been 

included in the written conditions. 

Here, Burg’s license suspension was imposed as part of his sentence. 

The “sentence” is the part of the judgment that orders that the punishment 

be carried into execution in the manner prescribed by law. TEX. CODE CRIM. 

PROC. art. 42.02. A license suspension is a civil penalty but is considered 

punishment for purposes of sentencing. See Tex. Penal Code § 12.01(c) 

(license suspension may be included in the sentence). And this Court has held 

that the sentence and conditions of community supervision are each separate 

parts of the judgment. Speth v. State, 6 S.W.3d at 532. It follows that Burg’s 
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license suspension, as part of the sentence, cannot also be a condition of his 

community supervision. 

Burg has an absolute and nonwaiveable right to be sentenced within the 
statutorily applicable range of punishment. 
 

This Court has held that a defendant has an absolute and nonwaiveable 

right to be sentenced within the statutorily applicable range of punishment 

established by the Legislature, the complaint of which can be raised at any 

time. Gutierrez v. State, 380 S.W.3d 167, 175 (Tex. Crim. App. 2012) (citing 

Speth, 6 S.W.3d at 532-33 & n.5). That is, a defendant has a right to be 

sentenced within the defined “universe of punishments applicable to the 

offense.” Speth, 6 S.W.3d at n.5. Burg’s license suspension was outside the 

defined universe of punishments statutorily applicable – specifically 521.344 of 

the Texas Transportation Code. That he did not raise the objection at trial 

does not preclude him from raising it for the first time on appeal. 

The trial court was not authorized by law to suspend Burg’s driver’s 
license. 
 

Generally, a person convicted of first-offense DWI is subject to a driver’s 

license suspension. See TEX. TRANSP. CODE § 521.341(3) & 521.344(a). 

However, an exception exists when a first-time offender is placed on 

community supervision and ordered to complete a DWI education program. 
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See TEX. TRANSP. CODE § 521.344(d). Another exception exists when a first-

time offender is placed on community supervision and is required to install an 

ignition interlock device in his vehicle. See TEX. TRANSP. CODE § 

521.344(d)(2). 

In Love v. State, 702 S.W.2d 319 (Tex. App.—Austin 1986, no pet.), an 

appellant was convicted of first-offense DWI and placed on community 

supervision. On appeal, the appellant complained that the trial court had no 

authority to impose a license suspension. Id. The Love court agreed, holding 

the statute, read as a whole, supported the conclusion that a trial court could 

not suspend the license of a first-time DWI offender placed on community 

supervision and ordered to complete a DWI education program.3 Id. at 320. In 

Miffleton v. State, 728 S.W.2d 880, 887 (Tex. App.—Austin 1987), aff’d, 777 

S.W.2d 76 (Tex. Crim. App. 1989), the court drew the same conclusion about 

treatment of first-time DWI offenders, though that appellant was disqualified 

because he had a previous conviction.  

The facts in this case are very similar to those in Love. Here, Burg was 

convicted of first-offense DWI under section 49.04 of the Texas Penal Code 

and placed on community supervision. As a condition of community 
																																																													
3 In Love, the statute on license treatment for first-time DWI offenders was former TEX. 
REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. art. 6687b, § 24(g). The relevant statutory language in Burg’s case 
is found in TEX. TRANSP. CODE § 521.344, enacted in 1995. 
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supervision, he was ordered to complete a DWI education program within 180 

days. Additionally, Burg was ordered to install an ignition interlock device in 

his vehicle as a condition of community supervision. (CR 102). To order a 

license suspension was plainly inconsistent with sections 521.344(d) and 

521.344(d)(2) of the Texas Transportation Code and cannot stand. See Love, 

702 S.W.2d at 321. 

The lower court erred in its failure to consider the merits of Burg’s 

complaint on appeal. Such a holding conflicts with decisions from this Court 

and with statutory law. The lower court’s opinion should be reversed, and the 

judgment should be reformed to omit the driver’s license suspension. 

PRAYER 

Burg prays that this Court grant review and, after full briefing on the 

merits, issue an opinion resolving this important issue. 

Respectfully submitted, 
 
/s/ Matthew J. DeLuca   
Matthew J. DeLuca 
State Bar No. 24069601 
712 Main St., Suite 2450 
Houston, Texas 77002 
Tel: (713) 429-4400 
Fax: (713) 228-2366 
matt@mattdelucalaw.com 
Attorney for Appellant 

 



	 8 

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE 

I certify that this document contains 1,530 words and is in compliance 

with Texas Rule of Appellate Procedure 9.4.  

/s/ Matthew J. DeLuca   
Matthew J. DeLuca 

 
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

I certify that a copy of this document was served on the following parties 

through the efile.txcourts.gov e-filing system on June 29, 2018: 

Bill Delmore 
Assistant District Attorney 
Montgomery County District Attorney’s Office 
207 W. Phillips, 2nd Floor 

 bill.delmore@mctx.org 
 
Stacey Soule 
State Prosecuting Attorney 
PO Box 13046, Austin, TX 78711-3046 
information@spa.texas.gov 
 

/s/ Matthew J. DeLuca   
Matthew J. DeLuca 

 

 

 

 

 

 



	 9 

 

 

 

APPENDIX 

 

MEMORANDUM OPINION  

OF THE NINTH COURT OF APPEALS 

Filed April 11, 2018 

 

 

 

 



 
 

1 
 

In The 

Court of Appeals 

Ninth District of Texas at Beaumont 

____________________ 
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V. 
 

THE STATE OF TEXAS, Appellee 
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On Appeal from the County Court at Law No. 1  
 Montgomery County, Texas 
Trial Cause No. 15-307592       

________________________________________________________________________ 
 

MEMORANDUM OPINION    
          

 In seven issues, James Allan Burg II appeals his class A misdemeanor driving 

while intoxicated conviction. See Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 49.04(a), (d) (West Supp. 

2017). Burg’s first four issues contend that the trial court erred by denying four 

challenges for cause he lodged against venire members because of alleged material 

bias or prejudice. In his fifth issue, Burg argues that the trial court erred because it 

failed to suppress a blood warrant obtained with an affidavit that Burg contends 
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contained material misstatements and omissions made deliberately or with reckless 

disregard for the truth. Sixth, Burg asserts the trial court should have allowed his 

request for an article 38.23 instruction in the jury charge because of the issue 

surrounding the blood warrant. See Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 38.23 (West 

2005). And last, Burg complains about the trial court’s suspension of his driver’s 

license as part of the terms of his community supervision. We overrule all of Burg’s 

issues and affirm the trial court’s judgment. 

Background 

 Texas State Trooper Matthew Cline stopped Burg late one night when Burg 

was driving on the interstate with his high beam lights against oncoming traffic. 

Patrolling with Trooper Cline—who was nearing the completion of his field 

training—was Texas State Trooper Richard Hazenberg, Trooper Cline’s field 

training supervisor. Trooper Cline’s patrol vehicle was equipped with a dash camera 

that recorded the stop, which was admitted into evidence. After both Trooper 

Hazenberg and Trooper Cline detected alcohol on Burg, Trooper Cline requested 

Burg exit his vehicle and conducted field sobriety tests on Burg. Based on the totality 

of his observations, including Burg’s performance during the tests, Trooper Cline 

arrested Burg for driving while intoxicated and transported him to jail. 
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 Burg refused to provide a blood sample, so Trooper Cline submitted an 

affidavit to a judge and obtained a warrant for Burg’s blood. The blood alcohol test 

revealed Burg had an alcohol concentration of 0.212 grams of alcohol per one 

hundred milliliters of blood. The jury convicted Burg of driving while intoxicated, a 

class A misdemeanor in this case because his blood alcohol concentration level 

exceeded 0.15. See Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 49.04(d). Based on the suggestion of the 

jury, the trial court assessed a one-year sentence in county jail, but probated and 

suspended the sentence and placed Burg on community supervision for eighteen 

months. Additionally, the trial court ordered that Burg’s driver’s license be 

suspended for one year. 

 Burg appealed complaining of issues associated with voir dire, the affidavit 

resulting in the warrant for Burg’s blood, an instruction in connection with the blood 

warrant, and the suspension of his driver’s license. 

Venire Member Challenges 

 In Burg’s first four issues, he contends that the trial court improperly denied 

his challenges for cause against venire members three, five, ten, and twenty-two. 

Burg alleges these venire members were challengeable for cause under article 35.16 

because they were either biased regarding a police officer’s credibility compared to 

other witnesses, or they did not afford him the presumption of innocence with respect 
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to the results of a blood alcohol test. See Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 35.16(a)(9), 

(c)(2) (West 2006). 

  Specifically, venire members three and twenty-two stated that if they were 

given a number indicating that the defendant’s blood alcohol level exceeded .08, the 

defendant was guilty. Moreover, when asked whether they would believe a police 

officer’s testimony over a layperson solely based on the witness being a police 

officer, venire members three, five, and ten stated, “Yes.” Venire member twenty-

two alluded that he would likely listen to a police officer over someone else. 

Following the trial court’s attempt to clarify whether the venire members would 

consider the evidence presented in the case and then judge the credibility of the 

witnesses based on their testimony versus their position as a police officer, the 

complained of venire members were then called to the bench individually to further 

discuss their alleged biased and prejudices.  

Venire member number three was called to the stand after the trial court 

denied Burg’s request to strike him. When asked to clarify his answers, venire 

member number three stated that “[a]nybody who’s testifying it’s a clean slate” and 

that with regard to the blood test, “[i]f everything is presented in the courtroom and 

it’s .08 and everything’s been presented legally, that’s the law.” Burg renewed his 

request to strike venire member three, but the trial court denied his request.  
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Venire member number five was then called to the stand because the trial 

court denied Burg’s request to strike her regarding her inclination to give more 

weight to a police officer’s testimony. However, after speaking with counsel and the 

trial court, venire member number five clarified that she would keep an open mind, 

because “you have to look at everything” and judge the officer’s credibility after 

hearing the evidence. The trial court continued to deny Burg’s request to strike 

venire member number five as well as deny his request for an extra preemptory 

strike.  

Similarly, venire member number ten told the trial court he would listen to the 

evidence of the case and determine the credibility of the officer based on the officer’s 

testimony, not his position as a police officer. The trial court denied Burg’s renewed 

request to strike venire member number ten, as well as his request for an extra 

preemptory strike.  

The court also denied Burg’s request to strike venire member number twenty-

two based on his assertion that police officers are better trained and thus, afforded 

more credibility. When asked about whether he would listen to all of the evidence 

and make a determination regarding the officer’s credibility based on that evidence, 

venire member number twenty-two explained that context had a lot to do with his 
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answer, but that he would listen to everything. The trial court denied Burg’s renewed 

request to strike.  

Prior to seating the jury, Burg explained to the trial court that because his 

requests for venire members three and twenty-two were denied and that he then used 

two of his strikes to remove these venire members, questionable venire members 

five and ten would be seated on the jury. Burg requested two additional preemptory 

strikes to rid venire member numbers five and ten from the jury, but the trial court 

denied Burg’s request. 

To preserve error for a trial court’s erroneous denial of a challenge for cause, 

Burg must show that he asserted a clear and specific challenge for cause, that he used 

a peremptory challenge on the complained-of-venire member, that his peremptory 

challenges were exhausted, that his request for additional strikes was denied, and 

that an objectionable juror sat on the jury. See Davis v. State, 329 S.W.3d 798, 807 

(Tex. Crim. App. 2010).  

We review a trial court’s decision to deny a challenge for cause by looking at 

the entire record to determine whether sufficient evidence supports the ruling. See 

id. (citing Feldman v. State, 71 S.W.3d 738, 744 (Tex. Crim. App. 2002)). “The test 

is whether a bias or prejudice would substantially impair the venire member’s ability 

to carry out the juror’s oath and judicial instructions in accordance with the law.” Id. 
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(citing Gardner v. State, 306 S.W.3d 274, 295 (Tex. Crim. App. 2009)). In applying 

this test, we must afford considerable deference to the trial court’s ruling because 

the trial judge is in the best position to evaluate a panel member’s demeanor and 

response. See id. A trial court’s ruling on a challenge for cause may be reversed only 

for a clear abuse of discretion. Id. (citing Gardner, 306 S.W.3d at 296). “When a 

venire member’s answers are vacillating, unclear, or contradictory, we accord 

particular deference to the trial court’s decision.” Id.  

A venire member is challengeable “if he cannot impartially judge the 

credibility of witnesses[,]” but “this means only that jurors must be open-minded 

and persuadable, with no extreme or absolute positions regarding the credibility of 

any witness.” Ladd v. State, 3 S.W.3d 547, 560 (Tex. Crim. App. 1999). Because 

“‘complete impartiality cannot be realized as long as human beings are called upon 

to be jurors[,]’” venire members “are not challengeable for cause simply because 

they would give certain classes of witnesses a slight edge in terms of credibility.” Id. 

(quoting Jones v. State, 982 S.W.2d 386, 389 (Tex. Crim. App. 1998) (addressing a 

venire member who indicated that he would tend to believe a police officer more 

than another witness)); see also Smith v. State, 907 S.W.2d 522, 531 (Tex. Crim. 

App. 1995) (holding that a venire member who said he might give more credibility 

to a Texas Ranger’s testimony was allowed to serve as a juror); Moore v. State, 54 
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S.W.3d 529, 537 (Tex. App.—Fort Worth 2001, pet. ref’d) (holding that a venire 

member was not challengeable for cause simply because they stated that they would 

trust an adult’s credibility more than that of a child).  

“Before venire members may be excused for cause, the law must be explained 

to them, and they must be asked whether they can follow [the] law, regardless of 

their personal views.” Davis, 329 S.W.3d at 807. The party seeking to have the 

venire member struck does not meet his burden of establishing that the challenge is 

proper “until he has shown that the venire member understood the requirements of 

the law and could not overcome his or her prejudice well enough to follow the law.” 

Id.    

Initially, we note that Burg did not use peremptory strikes on either venire 

member five or ten, but used two on venire members three and twenty-two. Burg 

identified venire members five and ten as the objectionable jurors that were seated 

on the jury. The record is silent as to whether Burg exhausted all of his peremptory 

strikes preventing him from striking venire members five and ten; but clearly, one 

strike remained as it was used on venire member twenty-two. Thus, it is questionable 

whether Burg successfully preserved his issues on appeal. See id. 

Nevertheless, affording the trial court its considerable discretion, after each of 

the objected to venire members subject of this appeal were called to the bench and 
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explained the law regarding the credibility of witnesses and evaluating results of a 

blood alcohol test, venire members three, five, ten, and twenty-two each stated, as 

detailed above, that he or she could apply the law as given regardless of any personal 

views. See id.; see also Buntion v. State, 482 S.W.3d 58, 84 (Tex. Crim. App. 2016). 

Thus, based on our review of the entire voir dire, we conclude that the trial court did 

not clearly abuse its discretion by denying Burg’s challenge for cause to venire 

members three, five, ten, or twenty-two. We therefore overrule Burg’s issues one 

through four.  

Suppression of Evidence 

 Burg argues in his fifth issue that the trial court erred in denying his motion 

to suppress the blood warrant that was obtained with an affidavit completed by 

Trooper Cline that Burg alleges contained deliberate or reckless material 

misstatements and omissions.  

 “[A] search warrant may be obtained from a magistrate only after submission 

of an affidavit setting forth substantial facts establishing probable cause.” State v. 

Jordan, 342 S.W.3d 565, 568 (Tex. Crim. App. 2011). Probable cause exists if, 

under the totality of the circumstances set forth in the affidavit before the magistrate, 

there is a fair probability that evidence of a crime will be found in a particular place 

at the time the warrant is issued. Id. at 568–69. Under Franks v. Delaware, if a 
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defendant establishes by a preponderance of the evidence that an affiant made false 

statements knowingly and intentionally or with reckless disregard for the truth in a 

probable cause affidavit and that the false statements were material to establish 

probable cause, the false material must be excised from the affidavit. 438 U.S. 154, 

155–56 (1978). 

 We review a trial court’s decision on a Franks suppression issue under the 

same standard that we review a probable-cause deficiency, a mixed standard of 

review. See Jones v. State, 338 S.W.3d 725, 739 (Tex. App.—Houston [1st Dist.] 

2011), aff’d, 364 S.W.3d 854 (Tex. Crim. App. 2012). We give almost total 

deference to a trial court’s rulings on questions of historical fact and application-of-

law-to-fact questions that turn on an evaluation of credibility and demeanor while 

we review de novo the application of the law. See Johnson v. State, 68 S.W.3d 644, 

652–53 (Tex. Crim. App. 2002) (citing Guzman v. State, 955 S.W.2d 85, 89 (Tex. 

Crim. App. 1997)); Jones, 338 S.W.3d at 739. However, in deciding a Franks 

motion, the trial court may consider not only the probable-cause affidavit, but also 

the evidence offered by the party moving to suppress, because this attack on the 

sufficiency of the affidavit arises from claims that it contains false statements. See 

Franks, 438 U.S. at 154–56; Cates v. State, 120 S.W.3d 352, 355–57 (Tex. Crim. 

App. 2003).  
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 “An affidavit supporting a search warrant begins with a presumption of 

validity[.]” Cates, 120 S.W.3d at 355. While the assumption exists that the evidence 

supporting a probable cause finding is truthful, the Fourth Amendment does not 

mandate that every fact in a supporting affidavit be necessarily correct. See Franks, 

438 U.S. at 164–65. “A misstatement in an affidavit that is merely the result of 

simple negligence or inadvertence, as opposed to reckless disregard for the truth, 

will not render invalid the warrant based on it.” Dancy v. State, 728 S.W.2d 772, 

782–83 (Tex. Crim. App. 1987) (clarifying that a misstatement in an affidavit 

resulting from mere negligence in checking or recording facts relevant to probable 

cause determination “is beyond the pale of Franks”); see also Franks, 438 U.S. at 

165. 

 In this case, almost immediately following opening statements, as well as 

throughout Trooper Cline’s testimony, and during a separate Franks hearing outside 

the presence of the jury, Burg attempted to argue that the blood warrant, and thus 

the results from the blood alcohol test derived from obtaining Burg’s blood, should 

be suppressed because Trooper Cline allegedly made intentional or deliberately false 

statements and omissions in his affidavit to obtain the warrant. Trooper Cline 

testified that after stopping Burg and approaching his vehicle, he noticed that Burg 

seemed confused and was moving very slowly, which to him may indicate 
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intoxication. While acknowledging that he could not recall if he smelled alcohol on 

Burg’s breath initially or after he requested Burg exit the vehicle, Trooper Cline 

stated at trial that he smelled alcohol and characterized it as “strong.” Nonetheless, 

during cross-examination, Trooper Cline said that his affidavit only indicated the 

odor was “moderate,” and the video of the stop indicates that before Burg is asked 

to exit his vehicle, Trooper Cline tells Trooper Hazenberg that he does not think he 

smells alcohol. However, the video also shows that Troopers Cline and Hazenberg 

discussed the matter despite being unable to understand the entire conversation.  

 Trooper Cline also explained that he conducted his DWI investigation that 

included standardized field sobriety tests. Trooper Cline detected six out of six clues 

while performing the HGN (horizontal gaze nystagmus). Burg also performed the 

walk-and-turn test and the one-leg-stand test.  

With respect to the walk-and-turn, Trooper Cline indicated in his case report 

(not admitted into evidence) that Burg had two out of eight clues. But, in his affidavit 

to obtain the blood warrant, he noted an additional third clue. Trooper Cline 

explained that two clues are required to consider the subject to have failed the walk-

and-turn test.  

Concerning the one-leg-stand test, Trooper Cline testified that his affidavit for 

the blood warrant indicated that Burg had three clues on the one-leg-stand, but his 
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case report only indicated two. Furthermore, during cross-examination, Trooper 

Cline was asked specifically to evaluate, while watching the video, one of the clues 

he did not mark in his case report regarding whether Burg raised his arms during the 

test. Trooper Cline maintained Burg impermissibly raised one of his hands, although 

after reviewing the video, any movement is difficult to detect. Nevertheless, when 

asked whether Trooper Cline added that Burg lifted his arm to constitute the third 

clue for purposes of the warrant, Trooper Cline stated “[n]o, I did not.” Two clues 

are required to indicate intoxication following the performance of the one-leg-stand 

test. Based on all of Trooper Cline’s observations of Burg as well as Burg’s 

performance on the field sobriety tests, Trooper Cline arrested Burg for suspected 

driving while intoxicated. 

 Prior to Burg’s vehicle being towed, an inventory was conducted of it 

following Burg’s arrest, and a receipt indicating the purchase of alcoholic beverages 

was found. Trooper Cline stated in his affidavit the receipt was for beer purchased 

three hours prior to Burg’s arrest; the video shows Trooper Cline showing the receipt 

to Burg and asking him about it, to which Burg did not respond. While Trooper Cline 

noted the receipt in his affidavit for the warrant, the actual receipt could not be 

located for trial.  
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During the Franks hearing, Burg denied purchasing the alcohol earlier that 

day. Rather, Burg contended that he did not purchase beer on the night of his arrest 

and produced some of his banking records that do not indicate a purchase on that 

night.  

 Moreover, the affidavit included a note that Burg had received various 

merchandise from a beer manufacturer’s marketer at a local establishment, but did 

not indicate when he obtained the merchandise. Burg argued that he received the 

merchandise from his friends who had gotten it at noon that day. However, the video 

has Burg stating that he received the merchandise that night, but then later saying 

that he and his friends had been at the establishment at noon. Burg argues that 

Trooper Cline’s failure to include that the merchandise was obtained at noon was a 

material omission in the affidavit. 

Regarding the inconsistencies between his affidavit and his case report, 

Trooper Cline stated that the affidavit for the blood warrant is made immediately 

after the suspect is arrested at the jail, while he writes his report several days after 

the suspect’s arrest. Thus, while acknowledging he is human and makes mistakes, 

Trooper Cline explained that the most accurate indication of what clues of 

intoxication he saw are the ones indicated in the affidavit. Trooper Cline also denied 

Burg’s allegation that he made any statement or omission concerning the affidavit 
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in an intentional or deliberate attempt to obtain the blood warrant. At the conclusion 

of the Franks hearing, the trial court denied his motion without further explanation 

and the blood alcohol evidence was allowed to be admitted into evidence. 

 While some inconsistences exist amongst Trooper Cline’s testimony 

regarding his observations and his case report that is not in evidence, his affidavit 

supporting the blood warrant, and the video of the stop, we must afford almost total 

deference to the trial court in its rulings on questions of historical fact in the trial 

court’s resolution of Burg’s complaints. See Johnson, 68 S.W.3d at 652–53. The trial 

court rejected Burg’s assertion that Trooper Cline’s misstatements or alleged 

omissions were deliberate or intentional. See Franks, 438 U.S. at 155–56; Dancy, 

728 S.W.2d at 782–83. The trial court’s ruling is supported by the record. See Dancy, 

728 S.W.2d at 782–83. In addition, the affidavit lists numerous other facts—

including the clues on the HGN, his eyes being glassy, him swaying, his mood 

swings, the undisputed clues on the other field sobriety tests, and some odor of 

alcohol— that support probable cause even absent the complained of statements. See 

Jordan, 342 S.W.3d at 568–69. We overrule Burg’s fifth issue. 

Jury Instruction 

 Burg asserts in his sixth issue the trial court erred by refusing to submit a jury 

instruction pursuant to Texas Code of Criminal Procedure article 38.23. Burg’s 
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request for the instruction concerned the underlying facts surrounding Trooper 

Cline’s obtaining the blood warrant and whether probable cause existed.  

 When reviewing jury-charge issues, we first determine whether an error 

exists. See Phillips v. State, 463 S.W.3d 59, 64 (Tex. Crim. App. 2015). It would be 

error to admit evidence obtained against a defendant that was illegally seized by 

police in violation of a defendant’s constitutional rights. See Tex. Code Crim. Proc. 

Ann. art. 38.23(a) (“No evidence obtained by an officer or other person in violation 

of [the Texas or United States constitutions] shall be admitted in evidence against 

the accused on the trial of any criminal case.”). When there is evidence admitted in 

a trial that creates a question regarding whether  

the fruits of a police-initiated search or arrest were illegally obtained, 
“the jury shall be instructed that if it believes, or has a reasonable doubt, 
that the evidence was obtained in violation of the provisions of this 
[a]rticle, then and in such event, the jury shall disregard any such 
evidence so obtained.”  
 

Robinson v. State, 377 S.W.3d 712, 719 (Tex. Crim. App. 2012) (quoting Tex. Code 

Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 38.23(a)).  

 “A defendant’s right to the submission of jury instructions under [a]rticle 

38.23(a) is limited to disputed issues of fact that are material to his claim of a 

constitutional or statutory violation that would render evidence inadmissible.” 

Madden v. State, 242 S.W.3d 504, 509–10 (Tex. Crim. App. 2007). To justify the 
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necessity of an article 38.23(a) instruction, there must be controverted evidence 

demonstrating a “factual dispute about how the evidence was obtained.” Robinson, 

377 S.W.3d at 719 (quoting Garza v. State, 126 S.W.3d 79, 85 (Tex. Crim. App. 

2004)). In other words, before the trial court is required to instruct the jury that it can 

disregard evidence, the record must include evidence sufficient to create a genuine 

issue of material fact as to whether the evidence was illegally obtained. See Madden, 

242 S.W.3d at 513. “Where the issue raised by the evidence at trial does not involve 

controverted historical facts, but only the proper application of the law to undisputed 

facts, that issue is properly left to the determination of the trial court.” Robinson, 377 

S.W.3d at 719. Moreover, “if other facts, not in dispute, are sufficient to support the 

lawfulness of the challenged conduct, then the disputed fact issue in not submitted 

to the jury because it is not material to the ultimate admissibility of the evidence.” 

Madden, 242 S.W.3d at 510. 

 Burg argues that because Trooper Cline’s affidavit and testimony included 

clues not indicated on his case report with respect to the walk-and-turn and one-leg-

stand tests and allegedly omitted other facts in the affidavit, a fact dispute existed 

warranting the instruction about whether the blood was illegally obtained. However, 

we rejected Burg’s complaint that sufficient probable cause was not established for 

the issuance of the blood warrant in our preceding discussion. Specifically, even if 



 
 

18 
 

we excised every challenged statement in Trooper Cline’s affidavit, the warrant still 

established probable cause because Burg displayed glassy eyes, smelled of alcohol, 

exhibited six clues on the HGN test, two clues on the walk-and-turn test, and two 

clues on the one-leg-stand test, along with other observed factors. Sufficient 

undisputed facts existed establishing probable cause to decide the lawfulness of the 

challenged conduct. See id. Trooper Cline’s affidavit provided probable cause for 

the magistrate to issue the warrant for Burg’s blood. 

 We conclude the trial court was not required to charge the jury that it could 

disregard evidence that it found had been illegally obtained by Trooper Cline 

because there was no evidence showing that the evidence was illegally obtained. See 

Robinson, 377 S.W.3d at 719; Madden, 242 S.W.3d at 513. Issue six is overruled. 

Driver’s License Suspension 

 In Burg’s seventh and last issue, he argues the trial court erred by imposing a 

one-year driver’s license suspension as a condition of his community supervision.  

 An award of community supervision is not a right, but is a contractual 

privilege, and the conditions of community supervision agreed to by the defendant 

are the terms of the contract entered into between him and the trial court. Speth v. 

State, 6 S.W.3d 530, 534 (Tex. Crim. App. 1999). If a defendant fails to object to 

conditions of probation at trial, he affirmatively accepts them and is barred from 
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complaining about them for the first time on appeal. See Tex. R. App. P. 33.1(a); 

Speth, 6 S.W.3d at 535. The only exceptions involve situations where the probationer 

has effectively been denied the opportunity to object, such as a modification of the 

conditions of community supervision without a hearing. See Rickels v. State, 108 

S.W.3d 900, 902 (Tex. Crim. App. 2003). 

 Burg did not object at trial to the suspension of his driver’s license. He cannot 

now complain about the alleged condition for the first time on appeal. See Speth, 6 

S.W.3d at 535. We overrule Burg’s seventh issue. 

 Having overruled all of Burg’s issues on appeal, we affirm the trial court’s 

judgment. 

 AFFIRMED. 

              
     
 _________________________ 

            CHARLES KREGER  
                   Justice 
 
Submitted on November 7, 2017         
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